Rad Reading February

For the month of February, I read the book Percy Jackson and the Olympians; the Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan. This story is about a boy named Percy, who has trouble follow him wherever he goes. Mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus nearly seem to be coming straight out of his book pages. Percy soon realizes that he is not part of the mortal world, but part of the immortal world. Percy heads off to a special camp for the summer, and soon learns that he has just ten to find and return Zeus’s master bolt, and bring Mount Olympus to peace.

I would recommend this book highly, because it’s packed full of amazing adventures, and has a fun take on Greek mythological stories. For example, Percy and his friends go on a quest that takes them from Santa Monica, to even Las Vegas, and Manhattan. Overall, this book is awesome that you should try reading!

My favorite character from this book was Annabeth. She was my favorite character because she reminds me a lot of myself. She is very wise, to the point, and seriously focused on keeping Percy on track. For example, she says, “‘I’ve been waiting a long time for a quest, seaweed brain,’ she said. ‘Athena is no fan of Poseidon, but if you’re going to save the world, I’m the best person to keep you from messing up.’” This quotes shows her diligence, and strength, but also her patience and determination to protect Percy, and while teaching him a lesson.

My favorite quote from this book was, “Go on with what your heart tells you, or you will lose all.” This quotes is very important, because not only was it important in the book, but in life too. Going with your heart and instincts, is always a good choice, if you have good intentions for the right reasons. For these reasons that is my favorite quote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *