Rad Reading February

For the month of February, I read two books. I read the second and third books of the series Percy Jackson and the Olympians. I am going to do my rad reading on the third book, Percy Jackson and the Olympians; The Titan’s Curse, by Rick Riordan. This book is about Percy, a half-blood, who abruptly one day receives a distress call from his saytr friend, Grover. Percy is sent on a quest accompanied by his friends to go see what is troubling Grover; two half-bloods. The lord Kronos has set up an evil scheme, and the two young half-bloods are his bait.

I recommend this book because of many things. It’s action-packed, and full of surprises and twists. This book has a very fun spin on Greek mythology, and full of adventures. For example, Percy and his friends meet Apollo, the sun god, and they ride in his sun bus around the world! This is why I recommend this book.

My favorite character in this book was Percy. Percy was brave, bold, smart, and witty. But most of all a team player, and compassionate. For example, “As anxious as I felt about Annabeth—all I wanted to do was search for her—I couldn’t help feeling sorry for the di Angelos. I remembered what it was like for me when I first learned I was a demigod.” This quote shows Percy’s compassion, and understanding for the poor di Angelos. He wants to comfort them, but also wants to search for his friend, who he also cares a lot about. This is why Percy was my favorite character.

My favorite quote from the story was, “Looking up in the sky, I saw that the stars were brighter. They made a pattern I had never noticed before – a gleaming constellation that looked a lot like a girl’s figure – a girl with a bow, running under the stars.” This was my favorite quote because it reminded me of one of my cousin’s who died. It made me think of all of the memories I’ve had with him, and appreciate the small things I still have from him still him today.

1 thought on “Rad Reading February

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *